What if?

20140513-213153.jpg

Over the past month or so, I’ve read the Harry Potter series for the first time, at 20 years old. I never had any of the books, and neither did my brother, so I went without reading it up until now. I saw that my cousin had them on her bookshelf, so I borrowed them…and never want to give them back. I loved them. There is so much humour, so much love put into these stories.

And I know, everything nowadays is a franchise. Books, movies, merchandise, all in it just to make money. But I don’t care. I will own this series for my children to read. I will buy all the DVDs to add to my collection when I get home. And yes, when we went to London, we went to Platform 9 3/4.

I love that there is this timeless story for children to read for generations. It’s so full of wonder and the impossible. You want it to be real. Every child who read this series waited anxiously for their 11th birthday, so they could get their letter in the mail. They dreamt of Hogwarts and spent so long just wishing it was real. And then cold reality set in and they realized it wasn’t. But I think that a part of them still held on. A part of me did. I’m 20 years old, with an education and a job and a healthy sense of responsibility…but part of me just wonders, what if? Wouldn’t it be amazing if this world existed? If there was this whole other universe living right under our noses. I know that J.K. Rowling thought up the whole thing, but what if?

This series has grasped me within its claws, and will not let go. Will it ever let go? Not for me. I will always love this series, and will read it over and over again with my children. I know that it can sometimes be seen as a money maker (just like with many other franchises of this type), but I honestly believe that there’s something so true and incredible about this series. I think Rowling summed it up quite nicely…

No story lives unless someone wants to listen. The stories we love best do live in us forever. So whether you come back by page or by the big screen, Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home.

One thought on “What if?

Leave a Reply

